Reboot

I’ve been away from my blog for far too long. In fact, it’s been a number of months since I’ve written regularly and it’s been frustrating to leave it in the internet wilderness, for it to be overgrown with digital weeds and nettles.

The time away was necessary. About a year ago, I made the decision that I needed to start a master’s degree in order to get my career out of the rut it had been in for sometime, which unfortunately meant putting on hold writing projects that had already commenced, such as my novel, and also my blogging.

This is also meant taking a job 4,000 miles from home, to do a job I didn’t particularly want to do in order to get the funds together to pay for my MA. Leaving London to go and work in the desert was tough enough, to teach in a high school in the Middle East, while doing a graduate degree was even tougher. I’ll be writing about that experience in the coming weeks, but what was harder still was not having the time to do any writing and blogging.

Why anybody writes is a mystery to me, and I’m sure, to anyone else who wants to get their ideas and feeling down in written form. But one thing is for sure: it’s an itch, an urge, an impulse that remains strong and gets stronger with every passing day of its absence.  Working in a position that doesn’t fulfil your creative needs is also difficult, because no matter how hard you work, you always feel a little bit incomplete. Time restraints meant that every day I would think about things to blog, but never get around to writing anything; I would also think about that manuscript which still needs a lot of editing and re-writing and wonder when I would be able to sit down and do that.

That time is now. So, now I’m back in London and my work in the desert is complete – I raised the funds needed to cover my master’s degree, and now I’m looking forward to having a little bit more time to write. So, this blog is about trying to re-starting my blogging and writing and trying to write as much as I can. Perhaps it’s more of a promise or reminder to myself than to cause anyone else on the planet the slightest bit of interest, although I hope that’s not so. Not having written anything for a while, and not having flexed my writing muscle the idea of sitting down and writing anything is a bit daunting.

I did reconsider deleting the blog and starting all over again, but I don’t think it’s necessary. I still think this blog is finding its feet and I am too, as a writer in this form. When I write fiction or the occasional journalism piece, it has a concrete goal, a purpose. This blog perhaps has yet to find one. My other blog was a collection of thought pieces and reviews of stuff, but I wanted to make this more about writing and the process of writing. I don’t think I can tear myself away from  writing thought-pieces because it’s who I am as a person. I like to discuss issues that I feel strongly about, and that quite often means moving away from the act of writing to a discussion of political issues.

It would be foolish to make promises about how much I going to post, but I do hope to get this blog back up and running and having regular original content over the next few weeks. Let’s see how things turn out!

Leave a Reply

